Agreement Reached In Istanbul

While approving russian projects, British and French diplomats also took the opportunity to take advantage of each other`s respective empires. While approving the Russian claims concerning Constantinople, they received Russian approval of the French claims on Syria and British claims over oil-rich Persia and Mesopotamia. Under the agreement signed on March 18, 1915, the ancient Constantinople would be handed over to the Russians within the historic walls of the city, which contained a large number of Byzantine monuments, especially St. Sophia, along with the road. In the first week of October 1918, the Ottoman government and several Turkish leaders contacted the Allies to preserve the possibilities for peace. Britain, whose troops occupied much of the Ottoman territories at the time, was not prepared to resign for its allies, especially France, which would take control of the Syrian coast and much of present-day Lebanon, in accordance with an agreement reached in 1916. In a move that angered his French counterpart Georges Clemenceau, Prime Minister David Lloyd George and his cabinet authorized Admiral Arthur Calthorpe, commander of the British navy in the Aegean Sea, to negotiate an immediate ceasefire with Turkey without consulting France. Although Britain was the only one to provoke the Ottoman exit from the war, the two powerful allies would continue to fight for control of the region at the Paris peace conference and for years. Although the Allies` attempt to conquer the territory of the Gallipoli campaign failed, Constantinople was occupied by the victorious Allies at the end of the war in 1918. But at that time, the Russian revolution had caused Russia`s withdrawal from the war and, as it was no longer part of the Allied powers, the agreement was not implemented.

Its existence was revealed in 1917 by the Bolshevik government. Although the British and French tried to limit Russian claims, they were unable to do so and faced the possibility that Russia could enter into a separate peace with the central powers. [19] The agreement was one of the agreements on the division of the Ottoman Empire by the Triple Agreement and Italy after the war, including the Treaty of London (1915), the Sykes-Picot Agreement (1916) and the St. John of Maurienne Convention (April-August 1917).

Posted in Uncategorized